Council News

For news entries dated prior to August 2010, click here.


Girl ScoutsThen and Now With Girl's Guide to Girl Scouting

By Jennifer Moody, Albany Democrat-Herald


Girl Scouts use several books at each level. For instance, Brownies have the Brownie Handbook, the Brownie book of “Try It” badges and a “Journey” book for Brownie-age girls, along with any supplemental material for the Brownie level.


Starting this fall, Scouts will have just the “Journey” book for their age group plus one other book, “The Girls’ Guide to Girl Scouting,” which will encompass both the handbook and the badges available for their level.


Girl Scout tokens include badges, patches, pins, “Petals,” “Try Its,” “Interest Badges” and more.


Daisies will continue to earn “Petals.” Other Scout levels will earn “badges” for new skills they acquire, and “patches” for events they experience, such as a parade or a special activity. The terms “Try It” and “Interest Badge” will no longer be used. When the new “Girls’ Guide to Girl Scouting” books come out this fall, they will contain the new or upgraded badges and requirements available for each grade level. The new book will have a one-year phase-in period, meaning current books and badges will still be good through September 2012. Even after September 2012, any badges that remain in stock at Girl Scout stores will be available for purchase until the stock is depleted. All badges already earned will retain their status.


Girl Scout leaders chose from a smorgasbord of possible experiences.


In 2008, the national Girl Scout program introduced “Journeys,” overarching themes covering a variety of potential activities all fitting into the same theme, which Scouts and their leaders can adapt for their own use. Three journeys are available to pursue, each with activities geared to the Scout’s age. They are: “It’s Your World — Change It!”, “It’s Your Planet — Love It!” and the last, just released this past December, “It’s Your Story — Tell It!” The “Journeys” program operates alongside traditional badges, but are meant to be included in the overall Scout experience. Currently, girls must follow the “Journey” path for Girl Scouts’ highest awards, including Silver and Gold.


Girl Scout activities were more leader-centered and leader-driven.


The national Girl Scout program is continuing to move to have Scouts take charge of their own learning, particularly with the “Journeys” curriculum. Whereas years ago a volunteer might have said, “Today we’re going to do this,” volunteers are now encouraged to help the girls make their own decisions about what they want to learn and the projects they want to do to get there.

Courtesy of the Gazette Times, |

Posted by News GSHS at 10:25 AM


No Comments yet!

Leave A Comment

Please answer the simple math question below to submit the form.
1 + 2 =

We've made the resources you need easy to find!

  • /assets/1467/20140816_113246.jpg
  • /assets/1467/20140816_100837.jpg
  • /assets/1467/20140816_095418.jpg
  • /assets/1467/img_6443.jpg
  • /assets/1467/img_6375.jpg
  • /assets/1467/dscf0044.jpg
  • /assets/1467/dscf0040.jpg
  • /assets/1467/img_6310.jpg
  • /assets/1467/img_6263.jpg